February 24, 2013

Seven Feasts of the Lord (Overview)

There would have been no redemptive plan for mankind if God had not instituted the 7 Feasts of the Lord, according to Leviticus 23. These 7 feasts outline God's redemptive plan for both Jesus' 1st and 2nd coming. There is not a date set; just a season in my posts.

Colossians 2:16-17
16 Let no man therefore judge you in meat, or in drink, or in respect of an holyday, or of the new moon, or of the sabbath days: 17 Which are a shadow of things to come; but the body is of Christ.

The 7 Jewish Festivals of Israel per Leviticus 23 are:
Unleavened Bread
First Fruits
Feast of Weeks
Fall Feasts:
Feast of Trumpet
Feast of Atonement
Feast of Tabernacles

All these feasts were and are a shadow of what was and is to be fulfilled by Jesus Christ.  Jesus fulfilled the first four and will fulfill the last three.

1. Feast of Passover                      Jesus Crucified
2. Feast of Unleavened Bread        Jesus Christ is sinless
3. Feast of First Fruits                    Jesus Christ is first to be resurrected
4. Feast of Weeks                         Gifts of the Holy Spirit
5. Feast of Trumpets                      Call to Repentance
6. Feast of Atonement                    Judgement
7. Feast of Tabernacles                  Jubilee

So, if Jesus fulfilled the first four feasts then He will fulfill the last three.  You will see over the next few posts how all of this show how these seven appointed times with God are the redemptive plan for mankind; those who believe.